Skinny/Sloshed

Standard

I can try to moderate my eating and make healthy diet choices, but I’m sorry, I am still going to kick back and drink with my friends. I like my drinks too much to not think about including the concept of drinking into a healthy lifestyle. I haven’t even fathomed going back to school and chugging keg beer… eeehhhh. Aaaanyways, here’s some smarter, healthier drinking options, and comparison of caloric content and fat/carbs.

Wine averages 100 calories per 1 glass, regardless of red or white.

Wine Calories Carbs Per 5-oz Serving
Chardonnay 20 0.4 g 100 calories, 2 g carbs
Pinot Grigio 20 0.4 g 100 calories, 2 g carbs
Zinfandel® White Wine 20 0.4 g 100 calories, 2 g carbs
Cabernet Sauvignon 20 0.8 g 100 calories, 4 g carbs
Merlot Red Wine 20 0.8 g 100 calories, 4 g carbs

Liquor, which I thought to be the best bang for your buck, actually averages slightly more calories when taken as a shot with a diet soda/tonic water chaser, or as a mixed diet drink. (At least with alcohol I actually drink). The 1.5 ounce serving is equivalent to a 5 ounce glass of wine. (Thank you Applebees responsible serving certification..)

Hard Liquor Calories Carbs Per 1.5-oz Serving
Vermouth 32 0.2 g 64 calories, 0.4 g carbs
Coconut Rum 51 5.3 g 77 calories, 8 g carbs
Beefeater® Gin 65 0 g 98 calories, 0 g carbs
Rye Whiskey 69 0 g 104 calories, 0 g carbs
Scotch Whiskey 69 0 g 104 calories, 0 g carbs
White Rum 69 0 g 104 calories, 0 g carbs
Vodka 69 0 g 104 calories, 0 g carbs
Cognac 69 2 g 104 calories, 3 g carbs
Tequila 69 5.3 g 104 calories, 8 g carbs
Gilbey’s® Gin 79 0 g 119 calories, 0 g carbs

Beer is.. beer.As this 12 ounce serving is equivalent to a shot or a glass of wine, one should consider how much they drink to get drunk. I would have to take fewer shots to get drunk and more beers. When figuring out what you want to drink, you should also consider percentage of alcohol per serving.

Beer Calories Carbs Per 12-oz Serving
“Light” Beer 9 0.5 g 108 calories, 6 g carbs
Draft Beer 12 1.1 g 144 calories, 13.2 g carbs
Lager 14 1.1 g 168 calories, 13.2 g carbs
Ale 18 1.1 g 216 calories, 13.2 g carbs

“Most health experts recommend the following hierarchy when choosing alcohol based on potential health benefits (such as antioxidant content): choose red wine over white wine; choose wine over beer; choose darker-colored beers over lighter-colored beers; and choose beer over liquor and liqueur. ”

MGD64 is what my pops drinks when he wants to have one, but he doesn’t really drink so its not a factor for him. I’d probably have a diet pink lemonade and vodka drink, or Merlot. We also have Michelob Ultra in the house, and it runs between 90 and 100 calories per serving (I don’t feel like walking to the kitchen and looking for the exact number.. lol). My moms friends drink gin and club soda with a lime wedge.

I wonder if it would be okay to incorporate some nutrition when I drink to justify more calories. I’m just looking for an excuse to still drink my Bloody Marys… YUMMMMMMMMM!!! What.. it’s celery…

ALSO – here’s a site of low-calorie drink recipes… I also Love mojitos Mmm!

nutritional content taken from: http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/nutrition_articles.asp?id=893

One response »

Leave a Reply

