Chicken Stir Fry

Standard

Stir fry’s are a great meal to make, because you can make a large amount for a healthy meal, and then have leftovers a a brown bag lunch until you use it all. I made this chicken stir fry monday night, and had it for lunch tuesday and wednesday. Today I have an avocado spinach salad that I’m looking forward to.

3 chicken breasts, trimmed and cut into chunks

1/2 Squash, peeled and cut into chunks

~20 Asparagus stalks, washed, trimmed and cut into inch long pieces

2 handfuls of snow peas, washed with ends cut off, then sliced in half

1 bell pepper, “

Sesame seeds

Garlic and Onion

Bag of whole wheat rice

Soy Sauce

Red pepper flakes

salt, pepper

*We have this Yoshida’s asiany-teriyaki sauce at my house that is unbelievably delicious, but full of sugar. I put around 1 tbsp. in as an indulgence and I do not regret it one bit 😉

(I also bought pineapple chunks to put into this, but I ended up not using them as a game time decision. I’m sure they’d be great, I’d just probably omit the squash and red pepper flakes.)

-Put chicken into skillet/wok with 1-2 tbsp of olive oil, cook on medium-high heat until almost all done.

-At the same time, cook rice. Follow package directions – there are just so many kinds.

-When rice is cooked, pour into serving bowl and set aside.

-Add the asparagus into chicken and let cook for a few minutes, stirring constantly.

-Then add all remaining ingredients into skillet/wok, save the liquid.

-Keep stirring quickly for around 7-8 minutes, making sure all the vegetables are getting completely cooked. 

-Add liquid – I used probably 2-3 tbsp of low sodium soy sauce. Let it bubble until the chicken all looks like it has soaked up soy sauce – probably around 3-4 minutes

-Pour on top of rice and enjoy!

-I thought at my new office we had a microwave, so I could reheat this meal. However, on Tuesday I realized it was a toaster oven so I would not be reheating. It was so satisfying cold that I had it again the next day.

Leave a Reply

