You look like a Female Bodybuilder.

Standard

Well, not quite. But doing the regular circuit for arms at Planet Fitness is leaving the tops of my shoulders (ahem … the Trapezius muscles) starting to look bulky. So I looked into it, and there’s specific exercises you can do to femininely tone your arms into looking like a perma-chicken winged pic. I’ve included some examples so you understand what I’m referencing. My friends have perfected the sexy chicken wing, as you can see. Sidenote: I find it unbelievable the ability my girls have in executing a perfect skinny-arm even when ghost face wasted.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Now, for some toning, not bulking, tips so we don’t look like this:
 

I talked about this a little bit in the Victoria’s Secret regimen post. Their trainers forbid them from doing any sort of resistance training, as it adds bulk. They focus much more on exercises that stretch the muscle out while toning – like specific cardio and particularly Pilates. If you are looking to tone all over, it seems Pilates is the thing to do. My new yoga studio (Heartspace on Madison Ave. in Albany! $10 per excruciating class for students!) offers a PiYo class on the weekends, and I am thinking of going to one of those. (Pilates and Yoga Combo).

Since we are all not Victoria’s Secret models, there are some arm exercises we can do, on machines or off, that tones our arms in the feminine way we are looking for. Push ups are great for this, however it is hard for many girls (i.e. me) to do pushups. You can do these on the wall or “modified” with the knees down until you build up some strength. Diamond pushups are supposed to be exceptionally good. (Make your indexes and thumbs form a diamond on the floor). Another exercise you can do is rowing. The rowing machine at my gym is one of my favorite ones, and it also builds back muscles, something I look for because of my scoliosis.

One more is a chest press. Lying on your back, choose 2 8 pound weights. Put your arms out to either side, and bent (coincidentally, probably at the chicken wing angle). Inhale as you bring your arms up over your head, and exhale to return them to your side. 2 reps of 15.

My friend Ali and myself did this one to prepare for prom our junior years in high school: Overhead Triceps Extensions – Stand upright, with you feet shoulder width apart. Hold your dumbbell directly above your head with arm fully extended. Clasp elbow with free hand for support. Slowly let your elbow fold so the dumbbell is lowered behind your head. Extend your arm back to the starting position. Repeat for the desired number of reps and switch arms.

Do you have any tone arm tips? Share!

Leave a comment